Why celebrate Friendship Day?

I am willing to celebrate friendship any given day. And, every single day! – Khalid Raza

I got up yesterday and I was puzzled why I have so many messages on my social networking sites and apps. Then I realized that it was Friendship Day and all my lovely friends took extra efforts to remember and wish me on the ‘special day.’

To tell you the truth, I find most of these celebratory days as ‘marketing gimmicks.’ But, I may be wrong and I will share my perspective. Please, feel free to let me know your thoughts.

Friends 2014 Khalid Raza SocialGlamor

History of Friendship Day

First Sunday of August is celebrated as Friendship Day, although most of us are unaware of the history and relevance. Some claim that, the United States Congress, in 1935, proclaimed first Sunday of August as the National Friendship Day, but I could find no evidence to support this claim.

Leigh Eric Schmidt in Consumer Rites, his study of the marketing of holidays in the US, writes that in 1919, Joyce C Hall, the founder of the Hallmark greeting card company, “floated the idea of a Friendship Day for the first Sunday in August, a date chosen as a slow period between other holidays, and the Greeting Card Association buoyed up the occasion with the raft of promotions.”

This recalls perhaps the best-known example of Friendship Day in popular culture, and one that played a key role in promoting the event. This is the film Kuch Kuch Hota Hai where, early on, Shah Rukh Khan’s character is shown handing out Friendship Day bands to any girl he fancies in his school. The film was released in 1998 not long after Archies started pushing Friendship Day in 1995 (Hallmark, which is now partnered with Archies, but was with a rival then, also started advertising it around 1997). Source.

But, let’s accept it – It is a day of celebration. And I for one, am willing to celebrate friendship any given day. And, every single day!

Friendship Day, I wonder why?!

Well, I have always believed in connecting with people, way before social networking sites became a pertinent aspect of our lives. I enjoy talking to people, making new connections and knowing more from people around me. I accept almost all the invitations on Facebook, LinkedIn and Connections (IBM’s internal enterprise social network (ESN)) as I believe in the power of social.

Read: Managing personal and professional identities.

I openly share with my network where I go, what I eat, what I read… almost every bit of information, except when I take a shower. Why not? Read the article mentioned above, once more.

But, when it comes to celebrating friendship day, I get puzzled. For me, each day is a friendship day; each moment is a friendship moment. One message, on a Sunday, would in no manner do any good to me or my friends, except maybe high traffic on social networking sites and platforms.

What should we do?

I am in no way suggesting that we should not celebrate the Friendship Day, however a ‘forwarded’ message for me is a waste of time. If you really cherish your friendship with anyone and it adds value to your life, then take time out to show gratitude. You could do the following:

  1. Pick up the phone, make a surprise call and recount a moment with your friend
  2. Send a surprise appreciation card
  3. Take them out for a coffee or a meal
  4. Be genuine!

If you have any other thoughts, feel free to reply and let me know. And thank you for being my friend. Cheers. Happy Friendship Day!

Edited by: Vanitha Poojary

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Why celebrate Friendship Day?

  1. Sarah Siegel August 4, 2014 at 4:07 pm Reply

    Thanks for being among my friends Khalid. I’m so glad our paths first crossed a few years ago.

    Like

    • Khalid Raza August 4, 2014 at 6:48 pm Reply

      The feeling is mutual Sarah. I know our busy worlds have kept us away but the admiration hasn’t rusted. Hope to see you once again and may be we spend more time on High Line as we did when we met last time.

      Like

  2. maureenmonte August 4, 2014 at 4:14 pm Reply

    Ah Khalid, you are, as always, a rock star. A gift of insight, observation, communication, and general awesomeness. I echo Sarah’s remarks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Khalid Raza August 4, 2014 at 6:53 pm Reply

      Maureen – in our lives we meet some ordinary people who are disguised ordinary but as you look within you see a volcano of goodness and that’s exactly what I see in you. You are a tremendous person, who inspires me to do more. It was all because of you. I was in Media Library today and guess what – this is what I saw “SWYS Discover Your Strengths Workshop (repeat): 7,011 downloads (10.2/day)”

      And all this happened because of you! You bring the best out of people and especially me!

      Liked by 1 person

      • maureenmonte August 5, 2014 at 3:51 pm Reply

        Wow! 10.2 a day? We did that workshop nearly 2 years ago! See the impact that friendship can have on the world (when the world ALLOWS it!) 😉 I do know that in our first year, there were over 24,000 downloads of the Strengths materials. I stopped tracking after a while – but again, that was you and me working together to make our world a more effective, successful, and thriving place to be. Thanks for sharing the fact that you came across our recording. Onward!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Mayank Agarwal August 4, 2014 at 5:42 pm Reply

    Totally agree with you. Every day should be celebrated and relationship should not be bonded with particular days.

    Like

    • Khalid Raza August 4, 2014 at 6:55 pm Reply

      I agree with you Mayank – relationships are meant to be forever and we must thank people for their love and affection. Thank you for taking out time to share your views. How did you celebrate your day?

      Like

  4. Sheila August 4, 2014 at 7:26 pm Reply

    Well that really got me thinking. I’m glad I did spent the day with friends and happier still, the week before I had a dinner party for 24 friends. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • Khalid Raza August 4, 2014 at 8:08 pm Reply

      Hey Sheila, this is great to hear you are spending time with friends rather than just sending random forwards. Being with people we love is a great gift we can give to ourselves and to those we love. Thank you for taking out time to read and reply to this blog. Let’s stay connected.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

