IBM Corporate Service Corps: My journey begins!

The Triple Benefit

  • Communities get their problems solved
  • IBMers receive leadership and development training
  • IBM grows new markets and global leaders

About the Program

The IBM Corporate Service Corps was launched in 2008 to help provide IBMers with high quality leadership development training while delivering high quality problem solving for communities and organizations in emerging markets. The program empowers IBM employees as global citizens. The journey begins with when groups of 10-15 individuals from different countries with a range of skills settle down at an emerging market for a four-week community-based assignment. During the assignment, participants undertake community-driven economic development projects.

This program increases IBM’s understanding and appreciation of growth markets while creating global leaders who are culturally aware and possess advanced teaching skills.

Teams work collaboratively with the local government and community counterparts to understand how to implement socially responsible business practices with measurable results in a global context. Read more about IBM CSC.

My assignment

Tim to shine 2014 Khalid Raza SocialGlamorI was selected for IBM CSC in 2012 but due to pressing business needs, I could not finalize my assignment. Couple of months ago, it was decided that I will be on Colombia1 team (which means this is the first team from IBM, going to Colombia on a CSC assignment). It’s a tremendous learning and growth opportunity and so you can imagine how excited I am about the entire trip.

My assignment will begin on 11 Sept, 2014 through 12 Oct 2014 and I will continue to share my experience with all of you through this blog.

Wish me luck and thank you for taking the time to read!

Edited by: Vanitha Poojary

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “IBM Corporate Service Corps: My journey begins!

  1. Raghu August 12, 2014 at 9:34 pm Reply

    I’m sure you will make an impact and be impacted yourself!

    Like

  2. jclemente2014 August 12, 2014 at 10:10 pm Reply

    Reblogged this on Treinta Días en Barranquilla.

    Like

  3. anu August 13, 2014 at 9:18 am Reply

    Good luck, Khalid!!

    Like

  4. Lisa Londino Macyda August 13, 2014 at 6:11 pm Reply

    So excited to follow your journey; you are the PERFECT person for this; we’ll all benefit from your wonderful communication skill in understanding the impact you’re making!

    Like

  5. maureenmonte August 14, 2014 at 12:10 am Reply

    Can I just say how excited I am for you, and how proud I am of you? Can’t wait to hear all about it, my rock star friend! You might consider doing Strengths with your CSC team – some others have done it before they left and found it very helpful! 🙂

    Like

  6. […] am on my IBM Corporate Services Corps assignment to Colombia, working on an exciting and enriching leadership assignment. My small team includes Danielle Rosado […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

