This Monday, decide what you want in life!

I believe in setting the pace – for my career and my life. However it is not as easy as writing this blog (or reading it).

We all complain of not having enough time for ourselves, to spend with our families, to pursue our passions and to do things which we love. We have become habituated to blame it on the corporate life we live, the way we live it. But guess what – it is you who needs to be blamed.

Did the penny drop?

Read the real story as told to me by Jane Doe, last week in Singapore, over some carefully chosen potions. Jane Doe Jr, her cute little angel, was feeling under the weather, however, our ever committed and dedicated protagonist decided to manage the situation by asking her spouse and family to pitch in, so that she can attend the late evening/night conference call. As she joined the bridge, she realized that the other party hasn’t joined. She had a note in her inbox, which read, “I can’t make it as my dog is not well.”

I don’t need to write further on this.

Mails or Memories

That’s my son Zayaan Raza

Action: Take 2 minutes now…now as in right now… and decide what you want in life. Your job will always be there, but people you love may not. You may earn 10-20% less salary but you will be happier and content. Do let me know by replying to this blog what change you will make. I’d love to know.

Eventually, You must have more memories than mails.

Tagged: , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “This Monday, decide what you want in life!

  1. Anthony​ Suresh Kumar G J March 20, 2017 at 9:41 am Reply

    Awesome message….Sounds too good to be true to us greedy humans who have no end….i have reached a stage in life where i can peacefully retire and pursue my passion But no the greed to earn never ends and i keep looking for better prospects and worry about what i don’t have than enjoy what i have….I wish the wisdom prevails​ and i make a right choice.

    Like

    • Khalid Raza March 20, 2017 at 10:23 am Reply

      I hope so too.. we all should do what makes us happy – now and later.

      Like

  2. Mandeep Kaur March 20, 2017 at 12:06 pm Reply

    Completely agree! Very nice article Khalid! 👍👍
    Actually our desires are superseding our needs, and this is how the value system is degrading. We must give time to our little kids else we’ll yearn to spend time with our grandchildren. And we may not be lucky to get that chance 😛

    Like

    • Khalid Raza March 20, 2017 at 1:54 pm Reply

      Thank you Mandeep for your perspective… The quality of life isnt measured in anything but happiness. So if family gives you happiness, don’t ask for directions…

      Like

  3. maureenmonte March 20, 2017 at 5:01 pm Reply

    Excellent blog, Khalid. This is exactly why I chose to leave IBM and pursue not just my passion, but my purpose. This is easy to say and hard to do – and I’m not talking about the leaving part, though that isn’t a walk in the park. At the core of your article is a request for reflection. The outcome of the reflection (over a period of time) can be self-awareness. Self-awareness is key to building a purpose – why are you here and what is the impact you wish to leave? I’m a big believer in building a vision, mission, purpose, and then using them as a compass / filter for making decisions. If the decision you’re about to make doesn’t support your vision/mission/purpose, then don’t do it. If it does, do it. If it is in between, think about it. These are not static documents. They can, and do, change over time as your world changes. Marriage, children, new job, new field, new degree…. but do these things and adjust your documents with intent. I’m going to share mine here and encourage people to CREATE THEIR OWN (I’ve had people copy mine because “they feel the same way.”) Do the hard work – you aren’t me and I am not you – be your totally awesome self because you are here to play a critical role that no one else on earth can serve.

    My vision is a world where everyone courageously searches their heart, pursues their dreams with excellence, honor, and self-respect, inspiring others along the way.

    My mission is to reveal and honor the strengths of everyone I meet, and be a partner on their leadership journey.

    My purpose is to help people and teams achieve what they were put on this earth to do.

    The vision is my perfect world – the world would be perfect in my eyes if we did these things. My mission is my role in the perfect world – how I support it.
    My purpose is the impact of my work.

    Take time – LOTS OF TIME – to build these documents for yourself and see how that changes your view of the world and the choices you make. Well done, Khalid. Thanks for sparking this and I apologize for the long reply.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Khalid Raza March 24, 2017 at 10:02 am Reply

      What do I say more here @maureenmonte. You have summed it up… The alignment of vision and action is the most critical part in our journey. Some of us get this right and some of continue to learn.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Amy July 3, 2017 at 12:42 pm Reply

    Good one Khalid!!! It’s the right message for all of us to look and re-evaluate our way of living and priorities.

    Like

  5. […] This Monday, decide what you want in life! […]

    Like

  6. […] This Monday, decide what you want in life! […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

